Home
English :: Français

Glossary of Terms and Definitions


 

Below is a list of some common terms connected to community service-learning(CSL) courses and programs. This page will begin with a definition of community service-learning(also sometimes referred to as service-learning, service learning, community-based education) and then list other terms alphabetically. (some of the following are excerpts with permission from the (U.S.) National Service-Learning Clearinghouse)

Terms and Definitions

Community Service-Learning

Community Service-Learning (CSL) is a powerful vehicle for experiential education that has clear objectives for both the learning that occurs by the involved students and the service being provided in the community organization setting. There is a strong emphasis on inclusive partnerships with non-profit agencies through their direct involvement as co-educators, providing community expertise in all phases of the learning process from planning through to the experiential and evaluation. CSL programs are most effective when including key elements drawn from experiential education theory, especially developing critical thinking skills and implementing intentional reflection components.

 

Assessment
The process of gathering information in order to make an evaluation. An evaluation is a decision or judgment about whether an effort is successful and to what extent that effort has or has not met a goal. Assessment may be descriptive or evaluative; involve conventional Likert-type items or narrative reports; and should be directed toward the following stakeholders:

Please also see Community Needs Assessment.

Civic Responsibility
The commitment of a citizen to his or her community to take responsibility for the well-being of the community. Service-learning and community engagement are often cited as developing students' civic responsibility.

Co-Curricular/Extra-curricular
Signifies a campus program where students learn and develop through service, although it is not explicitly connected to an academic course for credit.

Community
Community can be used in a number of ways to apply to almost any group of individuals. It is often used to describe a geographic group whose members engage in some face-to-face interaction. The term community can also be used in a more meaningful sense to emphasize the common bonds and beliefs that hold people together.

Community Development
Community members working together to achieve long-term benefits for the community and an overall stronger sense of community. Effective development has four important characteristics:

Community Needs Assessment
A process of  involving citizens in both problem-solving and the development of  local goals. This process is important because it not only allows people to learn more about the current state of their community, but, also, to feel like they have a voice in shaping its future.

The source of the above definition is:
http://www.commerce.state.mt.us/CDD/Includes/CDBG/NeedsAssessment/03EXA.pdf

Community Partner in CSL Initiatives
The non-profit agency that joins in partnership with campus faculty, staff and students in order to exchange resources, knowledge and expertise.

Engaged Campus
A college or university which emphasizes community engagement through its activities and its definition of scholarship. The engaged campus is involved in community relationships, community development, community empowerment, community discourse, and educational change.

Experiential Education
Engaged learning in which the learner experiences a visceral connection to the subject matter. Good experiential learning combines direct experience that is meaningful to the student with guided reflection and analysis. It is a challenging, active, student-centered process that impels students toward opportunities for taking initiative, responsibility, and decision making.

Pedagogy
The study of the teaching and learning process; service-learning provides a method that that informs and enhances the teaching/learning process.

Reciprocity in CSL Initiatives
A central component in community service-learning and community engagement that suggests that every individual, organization, and entity involved in service-learning functions as both a teacher and a learner.

Reflection
The critical component of successful service-learning programs is "reflection". Reflection describes the process of deriving meaning and knowledge from experience and occurs before, during and after a service-learning project. Effective reflection engages both teachers and students in a thoughtful and thought-provoking process that consciously connects learning with experience. It is the use of critical thinking skills to prepare for and learn from service experiences.

Volunteerism
The performance of formal service to benefit others or one's community without receiving any external rewards; such programs may or may not involve structured training and reflection. Effective community service-learning experiences are not considered to be the same as volunteerism.

Accueil
English :: Français

Glossaire


La liste ci-dessous contient des termes courants relatifs aux cours et aux programmes d’apprentissage par le service communautaire (ASC). Elle commence par la définition de l’ASC (parfois aussi appelé apprentissage par le service ou éducation ancrée dans la communauté), puis définit d'autres termes par ordre alphabétique. [Certaines des définitions suivantes reproduisent, avec autorisation, celles du National Service-Learning Clearinghouse (États-Unis).]

Termes et définitions

Apprentissage par le service communautaire

L’apprentissage par le service communautaire (ASC) est un puissant moyen de formation expérientielle ayant des objectifs bien définis à la fois pour l’apprentissage des étudiants participants et pour le service qu’ils fournissent dans le cadre des organismes communautaires. Cette formule met fortement l’accent sur des partenariats inclusifs avec des organismes sans but lucratif directement impliqués comme coéducateurs et fournissant le savoir-faire de la communauté durant toutes les phases du processus d’apprentissage, de la planification à la pratique et à l’évaluation. Les programmes ASC les plus efficaces sont ceux qui intègrent des éléments clés de la théorie de l’éducation pragmatique, en particulier s’ils développent les aptitudes à la pensée critique et intègrent des composantes de réflexion planifiée.

Analyse

Le processus consiste à réunir de l'information en vue d’une évaluation. Une évaluation est une décision ou un jugement sur le succès ou l’échec d’une initiative et sur la mesure dans laquelle celle-ci a atteint ou non son but. L’analyse peut être descriptive ou évaluative; comporter des éléments de type Likert classiques ou des rapports narratifs; et devrait être orientée vers les parties intéressées suivantes :

Voir aussi Analyse des besoins communautaires

Analyse des besoins communautaires


Ce processus engage les citoyens à la fois dans la résolution des problèmes et la définition d’objectifs locaux. Il est important parce qu'il permet à chacun non seulement d'en apprendre davantage sur l'état actuel de sa communauté, mais aussi de sentir qu’il a voix au chapitre dans la préparation de son avenir.

La définition ci-dessus est tirée du site (anglais seulement) :
http://www.commerce.state.mt.us/CDD/Includes/CDBG/NeedsAssessment/03EXA.pdf

Bénévolat

Prestation d’un service formel au profit d’autrui ou de sa propre communauté sans obtenir de récompense matérielle; de tels programmes peuvent ou non comporter une formation et une réflexion structurées. Les expériences efficaces d’apprentissage par le service communautaire ne sont pas considérées comme étant du bénévolat.

Campus engagé

Un collège ou une université qui, par ses activités et sa définition de la mission professorale, met l’accent sur l’engagement dans la communauté. Le campus engagé entretient des rapports avec la communauté, il s’implique dans le développement, l'autonomisation et le dialogue communautaires, et contribue au changement pédagogique.

Communauté


Ce terme peut être utilisé de plusieurs manières pour définir presque n'importe quel groupe de personnes. On l’emploie souvent pour décrire un groupe géographique dont les membres pratiquent une certaine interaction en face-à-face. Le terme « communauté » peut aussi être utilisé de manière plus significative pour mettre l’accent sur les liens et les croyances communes qui font qu’une population reste unie.

Développement communautaire

Membres d’une communauté travaillant ensemble pour obtenir des avantages à long terme pour la communauté et renforcer leur sentiment d’appartenance à la communauté. Tout développement réussi possède quatre caractéristiques importantes :

Formation expérientielle

Apprentissage engagé où l’apprenant sent un lien viscéral avec la matière. Un bon apprentissage expérientiel allie une expérience directe qui est significative pour  l'étudiant à une réflexion et à une analyse guidées. C'est un processus stimulant, actif et  centré sur l’étudiant, qui pousse celui-ci vers des occasions de prendre des initiatives, d’assumer une responsabilité et de prendre des décisions.

Partenaire communautaire dans des initiatives ASC

L'organisme sans but lucratif qui s'associe au corps enseignant, au personnel et aux étudiants d’un établissement pour partager des ressources, des connaissances et un savoir-faire.

Pédagogie

Étude du processus d'enseignement et d'apprentissage; l’apprentissage par le service communautaire est une méthode qui informe et renforce le processus d’enseignement et d’apprentissage

Programme parallèle

Programme sur campus où les étudiants apprennent et se développent par le service communautaire, bien qu'il ne soit pas expressément lié à un cours donnant droit à des crédits.

Réciprocité dans les initiatives ASC

Composante essentielle de l’apprentissage par le service communautaire et de l’engagement communautaire: chaque personne, organisme et entité participant  à une initiative d’ASC est à la fois enseignant et apprenant.

Réflexion

La « réflexion » constitue l’élément critique de tout programme efficace d’apprentissage par le service communautaire. C’est le processus qui consiste à tirer de l’expérience un sens et un savoir et qui se déroule avant, pendant et après un projet d’apprentissage par le service communautaire. Toute réflexion efficace engage à la fois enseignants et étudiants dans un processus sérieux et stimulant par lequel un lien est consciemment établi entre l’apprentissage et l'expérience. C'est l'utilisation de la pensée critique pour se préparer à des expériences de service et en tirer des enseignements.

Responsabilité civique

L'engagement d'un citoyen à l’égard de sa communauté, l’engagement à prendre la responsabilité du bien-être de la communauté. L’apprentissage par le service communautaire et l'engagement dans la communauté sont souvent mentionnés comme facteurs de développement de la responsabilité civique des étudiants.